Author Topic: The dangers of overstating yourself  (Read 4110 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
The dangers of overstating yourself
« on: March 15, 2018, 09:20:29 AM »
I would like to share a not-so-pleasant experience many years ago of watching an otherwise eloquent speaker progressively demolish his credibility through overstatement. Being an avid but largely self-taught student of rhetoric, I watched with rapt attention that Sunday afternoon as the fortyish priest began his homily. He exuded the verve and confidence of an experienced schoolmaster, speaking in fluent Tagalog interspersed with impeccable English. He obviously knew how to speak rhetorically, and I must say that in the beginning, his eloquence held me and most of the audience spellbound.

ARISTOTLE: Persuasion by argument is best achieved when the links in the
speaker’s chain of argumentation are few.

His elocution was classically Aristotelian. First, although a lector had already substantially introduced him, he restated his bona fides to more firmly establish his ethos, or the appeal of a speaker’s character (“Yes,” he intoned, “I am a teacher, make no mistake about that.”). Then, for pathos, or the appeal to emotion, he used some academic-style humor that often drew laughter and half-smiles from the audience. I thus imagined that he was conversant with the Grecian flowers of rhetoric, so I naturally expected his homily to have a persuasive logos or appeal to reason as well.