Author Topic: “I want to create a style of my own”  (Read 20118 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
“I want to create a style of my own”
« on: June 05, 2009, 10:52:54 PM »
Because its thoughts still resonate and are as relevant as ever today, I am taking the liberty of posting here an e-mail I received way back in August 2002 from a writer who simply called herself “Francois.” She sent me the e-mail a few weeks after I started out with my English-usage column in The Manila Times. Recently, I wanted to get in touch with her to ask her to post it in the Forum herself, but my search for her e-mail to get her e-mail address was in vain. It has been so long that my mailbox seems to have already consigned that e-mail to netherspace.

Here’s what Francois wrote:

I am a 2000 graduate in journalism. I have been working in a publishing company for two years now, and I have been practicing my writing skills all this time, but I don’t really feel that I am that good, particularly in writing in English. As in the examples of application letters that you showed in your column, some people—and that includes me—wish to express themselves in writing to reflect the level of education they have attained. I think they use highfalutin words to show off an air of high academic achievement, but as you showed in your articles, their English ironically becomes “convoluted, stilted.” Not long ago I started trying to correct this mistake.

As a writer, I would like to create a style of my own. But in my company I have a senior editor who edits my work before publication. He is in his senior years and has experience. His “years” in the field of media, PR, and editorial have earned him respect and given him a reputation. I recognize and respect this. My problem is that when he edits my work, it doesn’t feel like it is my work anymore. His “writing style” is not so much to my liking, but I tried to adapt to it simply as one way of improving myself.