Author Topic: The language of science and literature  (Read 6181 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
The language of science and literature
« on: November 16, 2022, 08:52:01 PM »
One of the things a lecturer or writer should learn early enough is that it’s hardly possible to communicate anything in words or ideas that the listener or reader doesn’t already know and understand.

When I was a university sophomore long, long ago, my vivacious English III professor must have learned this with great consternation when she quizzed me: “Mr. Carillo, in Gerard Manley Hopkins’ ‘The Grandeur of God,’ what does this line mean?

It will flame out, like shining from shook foil; 
It gathers to a greatness like the ooze of oil
Crushed.

It wasn’t a tough question so I replied confidently: “Exactly what it says, ma’am. God’s glory would shine brightly like aluminum foil shaken in sunlight, and would splatter like oil if you try to crush it.”

She cut me down impatiently: “A very simplistic view, Mr. Carillo. Isn’t there anything in that head of yours that tells you that God’s glory is like the sun in the day and the black darkness at night?”

“No, ma’am.”

“Oh, my goodness, from what province did you come from, Mr. Carillo?”

It was worse in Chemistry II. My sixtyish professor would quietly walk to the front of the classroom like a sleepwalker, fix her gaze to the back end of the ceiling, then start mumbling her lectures this way: “The oxidation number is equivalent to the valence but with a sign that expresses the nature of the charge of the species in question when formed from the neutral atom. Thus, chlorine in hydrochloric acid has the oxidation number -1, hypochlorous acid has a +1. The oxidation number of chlorine in chloric acid (HClO3) is in turn +5...”