Author Topic: Non English majors teaching English  (Read 7013 times)

vinzvonvan

• View Profile
Non English majors teaching English
« on: November 17, 2009, 08:01:26 PM »

This is such a very informative site. I didn’t even know that I have fellow Filipinos who share their exceptional ideas in English on the web. Maybe most of us know about business process outsourcing which gave birth to call center agents and online teachers.Indeed, BPO companies provided employment for many Filipinos and I am one of them.In reality, I am a licensed Social Studies major but as of the moment, I am an online English teacher.”Why are you not teaching in a regular school” was the repeated question I heard from some of my young colleagues and former Education classmates. I would just tell them that there wasn’t an available item for a Social Studies major in government schools. Actually, I have applied twice for a teaching position in government schools but I’m not fortunate enough to get the most coveted item.

I began to dislike teaching the subject because there are so many Social Studies teachers with few items available in public schools.I decided to shift by applying in an online company and consequently teach English.My love for the language was rekindled, and began to discover that my knowledge in English was so insufficient to teach the subject to foreigners.Luckily, online companies give free trainings in grammar, accent and pronunciation to satisfy the needs of learners.Because of these trainings, I determined the difference of a classroom English teacher to an ESL (English as a Second Language) instructor.Classroom teachers focus on the rules (based on my primary and secondary school experiences)without putting into practice what they’ve taught.
Maybe because it will sound OA to listen to people speaking in English while all others converse with their native tongue.Also, students are more comfortable with their own language (anyone familiar with teen talk?).