Author Topic: Relative Markers: As Determiners and As Pronouns  (Read 5331 times)

Michael E. Galario

• View Profile
Relative Markers: As Determiners and As Pronouns
« on: August 24, 2016, 02:05:10 PM »
Hi sir,

I am currently studying the different types of determiners and I got stuck in relative markers used as determiners. Things got mixed up in my grey matter while trying to analyze sentences.

Just want to ask for clarification about my observation on the relative markers function in a sentence. For this inquiry, I would refer to the group of Relative Pronouns as Relative Markers so as to avoid confusion to our forum members as this Relative Markers assume different functions in a sentence depending on context. I'd like to find out if their functions can  be defined by how they are structured in sentences.

A relative marker can function as a determiner and as a pronoun in a sentence. My understanding of a relative marker used as a determiner is that it should premodify noun (same with the other types of determiner) as in the structure below:        

Determiner + Noun

The girl in the mirror is my friend

Where: The words "the" and "my" premodify the nouns that follow them.

This is the same pattern/structure that I am also expecting from a relative determiner.
                           Also, for a relative marker to function as a determiner it must satisfy the requirements
                           in writing an adjective clause and those are:

1. There should be a relative marker.
                             2. There should be a subject and a verb following the marker.
                             3.  The clause formed should answer what, which, how many and how much.

Structure: Noun + Relative marker + Noun + subject

Examples:           They predicted THAT john would have to resign.
                                                     I will show you which house is mine.