Author Topic: Tenses!!!  (Read 11429 times)

spelling

• Initiate
    • View Profile
    • Email
Tenses!!!
« on: July 26, 2012, 04:28:02 PM »
Hello sir,

I am studying tenses through English Page.com.  They have some nice exercises.  The Tenses are driving me insane!!!  I need to ask the following:

1.  In the sentence: "My best friend and I have known each other for over fifteen years.  We still get together once a week."  Does 'have known" indicate Present Perfect? On English Page`s site, under Present Perfect - it says that you cannot use the PP with specific time expressions.  So, fifteen years is a time expression?? If this sentence is in the PP, then under which usage heading on the English Page - Present Perfect - does it fall?

2.  "Stinson is a fantastic writer.  He has written ten very creative short stories in the last year.  One day, he'll be as fabous as Hemingway."  Has written - is it Present Perfect? Because according to the sentence he is expected to write more stories? So, on English Page, under PP, it will fall under the heading - An uncompleted action you are expecting?

3.  "I have not had this much fun since I was a kid." Present Perfect? For the same reason as sentence 2?

Thank you,
Annelize

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Tenses!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2012, 07:43:53 PM »
Let’s analyze the tenses of the sentence constructions in the EnglishPage.com webpage that are bothering you:

1. “My best friend and I have known each other for over fifteen years. We still get together once a week.”