Author Topic: When sunset comes and evening ends really depends on location  (Read 9772 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
When sunset comes and evening ends really depends on location
« on: January 19, 2012, 10:11:14 PM »
Question e-mailed by Mark Llacuna (January 4, 2012):

Dear Mr. Carillo,

In Korina Sanchez’s column published in the web edition of The Philippine Star (That Does It: “Smog that paralyzed an airport!”, The Freeman, January 4, 2012), she wrote:

“They were scheduled to fly back to Manila at 6:10 in the evening, but they were delayed by almost five hours! They boarded their flight at around 11:20 in the evening.”

I’m not an expert in English so I’m just wondering if the use of “evening” in the second sentence above is acceptable. My understanding of “evening” is that it refers to the early part of the night, typically between sunset and bedtime. Secondly, isn’t the second sentence unnecessary since the first sentence had already implied it? Moreover, the second sentence contradicts the first because 11:20 is a little over 5 hours, not “almost five hours” since 6:10.

Mark

My reply to Mark (January 19, 2012):

Sorry for this much delayed reply. I was on vacation for 12 days and I got back only today.

Yes, you’re right, Mark; “evening” does refer to the early part of the night, typically between sunset and bedtime. But this definition of “evening” allows for some latitude as to when it begins and when it ends. In some parts of the world, “evening” is taken to mean the period from sunset or the evening meal to bedtime, but we know that the times of sunset vary widely depending on a country’s location on the globe, and that the precise times of the evening meal and bedtime also vary widely from person to person.