Author Topic: As a writer, how do I improve my English grammar?  (Read 7040 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
As a writer, how do I improve my English grammar?
« on: December 24, 2011, 11:39:15 AM »
E-mail from JC, a Filipino freelance writer based in New Zealand (December 21, 2011):

I’m most thankful to you for sharing your knowledge about English grammar through your Forum. You’re helping me a lot. How I wish I could be as good as you! I’m a writer who’s always struggling with grammar. I have left my university job at the Central Philippine University for a freelance adventure here in New Zealand.

If I may ask, how do I improve my English grammar? What are your suggestions—apart, of course, from browsing your English-usage website and learning from it? Would going back to university for formal study help?

Merry Christmas!

My reply to JC:

Merry Christmas, too, JC! I hope your New Zealand adventure is proving to be a great and rewarding experience for you!

You ask how you might be able to improve your English grammar. May I suggest that you widen this objective to include English usage, meaning not just observance of grammar rules but the use of the language itself? And since you are a writer, I think you should specifically aim to make yourself a better, more readable writer in English.