Author Topic: Lisbon, Portugal, My birthday week  (Read 5789 times)

hill roberts

• View Profile
    • Email
Lisbon, Portugal, My birthday week
« on: November 05, 2011, 06:03:48 PM »
It wasn't planned at all. One day, while having breakfast, I mentioned to my husband about how I quite enjoyed driving in England and Scotland because of the motorways. I must admit to some immodesty when I say that I am actually a very good driver, whether it's city-driving or  motorway-driving. My husband has stopped driving for a good ten years after making a decision not to renew his driving licence in the UK. Anyway, when I mentioned it to him that I fancied driving to Lisbon instead of flying, he said nothing and showed no emotion, being his typical British response. The truth of the matter is, a week before that Lisbon decision, I was already checking the internet for cheap hotels in Geneva. To my horror, even in the autumn, hotels were fully booked and very expensive! Sure, cheap flights abound and this is where Easyjet comes in. I checked and there were flights selling for less than £30/per person. I then began checking the flight dates to some cheaper hotels---the sad thing was, the cheap flight dates and hotel bookings didn't coincide! Let's say, three days in a hotel and the cheap flights allowed for five days' before departure, or vice versa, hence, my dilemma. When I mentioned it to my husband, he seemed rather pleased! Why? We were in the UK for over a month and he was still recuperating from his holidays. Here I was making another journey, which to him, was unacceptable. Still, I persevered.