Author Topic: Should "Styrofoam" have a capital "S"?  (Read 16491 times)

katrina90925

• Initiate
    • View Profile
Should "Styrofoam" have a capital "S"?
« on: September 17, 2011, 03:25:00 PM »
Good day.

I am an editor of our school publication. I edited one of my co-editors' articles, correcting the capital "S"of the word "styrofoam" to a lower case . Then he told me that "Styrofoam" is a patented name and should be capitalized. But again, I remember that this can be proper noun taken as common noun since it is used all the time.

What is the real rule behind this? Thank you very much.

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Should "Styrofoam" have a capital "S"?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2011, 04:37:43 PM »
Your editor is right in saying that “Styrofoam” is a patented name. It’s a 60-year-old trademark of The Dow Chemical Company for a light, resilient extruded polystyrene foam insulation, and as such should be treated as a proper name with the first letter in upper case. However, that name is now commonly used in the generic sense, with the first letter in lower case, for disposable foam products such as coffee cups, coolers and packaging materials—a generic usage that Dow objects to on the ground that these materials are not made of Styrofoam but from expanded polystyrene (EPS), which doesn’t have the insulation value, compressive strength, or moisture-resistant properties of the Dow product.