Author Topic: When the time of the action gets “stranded” in a sentence  (Read 4372 times)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
When the time of the action gets “stranded” in a sentence
« on: August 12, 2011, 09:28:22 PM »
Feedback e-mailed by Mr. Juanito T. Fuerte, Forum member:

Hi, Joe,

The following is the first paragraph of a news item published in today's (8/12/11) issue of The Philippine Star:

“Miss Earth 2008 Karla Paula Henry was attacked by a drunk helper at a Mandaluyong City condominium where she owns a unit yesterday morning.”

Joe, I have a strong haunch that the writer meant to say the attack took place “yesterday” although the sentence seems to associate the word with owning a condo unit. What do you think?

In the third paragraph of the same news story, the report said “Henry shouted and was heard by security guards...”

I’m not an expert in this field but, since the story didn’t say what the subject shouted for or about, would it have been more appropriate if it had used the word "screamed" in place of "shouted"?

You're the maestro, Joe. You can take it from here.

All the best,

Juanito T. Fuerte

My reply to Juanito:

You’re right in your feeling that there’s something grammatically wrong in this lead sentence from that Philippine Star news story:

“Miss Earth 2008 Karla Paula Henry was attacked by a drunk helper at a Mandaluyong City condominium where she owns a unit yesterday morning.”

The problem is what I’d call a “stranded” time of occurrence—“yesterday morning.” It got detached from the operative verb—“was attacked”—by total of 14 words, in effect making it a misplaced modifying phrase that wrongly attaches itself to the verb phrase “owns a unit.”

A simple fix for that badly constructed sentence is to bring that stranded time of occurrence as close as possible to that operative verb, as follows: