Author Topic: How to use the word "occupation" in a sentence?  (Read 42406 times)

nostalgic_haze

• Initiate
    • View Profile
How to use the word "occupation" in a sentence?
« on: February 10, 2011, 04:46:14 PM »
I read someone use this word like this: "My occupation is a teacher". But I think "My occupation is that of a teacher" and "My occupation is teaching" sound more correct.

Could anyone help me with this? I can't find any credible source online for this one. Thank you very much in advance!  :)

Joe Carillo

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to use the word "occupation" in a sentence?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2011, 06:31:10 PM »
By definition, an “occupation” is an activity one engages in or is the principal business of one’s life, and the noun “teacher” means one who teaches or whose occupation is to instruct. To say “My occupation is a teacher” is therefore grammatically and semantically wrong. It erroneously makes the activity of teaching equivalent to the person who engages in it. Of course, the alternative statements you suggested, “My occupation is that of a teacher” and “My occupation is teaching,” sound correct, but they are grammatically and semantically correct to a fault.

We must take note here that the first-person statement “My occupation is a teacher” is a typical flawed response to this question: “What is your occupation?” The correct, natural, and straightforward response to that question is, of course, “I’m a teacher” or simply “Teaching.” To say “My occupation is that of a teacher” or “My occupation is teaching” is too agonizingly correct and stilted, and I must say that the English of the teacher who talks that way leaves much to be desired.

nostalgic_haze

• Initiate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2011, 09:50:42 PM »
Thank you for the explanation, sir.

I was wondering how to use this in a simple sentence to show ESL students the meaning of the word. Can I just use "My occupation is teaching"?